Eli Wood

Name; Eli Wood

Nickname; Eli

Star sign; Sagittarius

Occupation; Teacher

Favourite food; This is a really hard question as I love food but if I had to choose one I guess it has to be chocolate.

Favourite film and TV series; My favourite films are dirty dancing and the Harry Potter films (I love them, there is a top that I really want that’s says: Do you even Leviosa?) My favourite older TV series has to be Gavin and Stacey but more recent is Homeland.

Favourite holiday destination; I love Australia and if I could afford to go here on holiday more often I would. But my Aunt lives in Portugal so I frequently visit and love it over there.

Hobbies and past time; I have a silly springer spaniel who I enjoy walking, I also have a horse so enjoy spending time at the yard and riding. I love to compete at dressage although have never done this to a high standard, I would like to get back into it but time always seems to be against me. I also spend a lot of time in the gym, usually having to have a forced rest day (hate rest days!).

Red or white? Red every time (Love a good rioja).

Tea of coffee?

I am not a huge fan of either but would drink tea, coffee smells delicious but tastes horrific!

Bacon sandwiches or kale smoothie?

Is this a real question? Bacon, durrrrr!

Phobias?

I don’t like my legs feeling trapped, is that a phobia?

I couldn’t live without?

My car, it allows me to do all the things I love. Horses, gym, walking, holidays etc.

How long have you been a member of the gym?

I have been a member of the gym for 2 years now.

What did you do to keep fit before the gym?  

I used to run a lot, I loved running and would often run in the morning and attend the gym in the evening.

What’s your favourite Olympic lift and your PB on that lift?

I enjoy cleans when my knee isn’t playing up and love any lifts over my head, no idea why (especially as I have dropped 50kg on my head before). My PB for cleans and anything over my head is 60kg, feeling a little stuck at this weight now though.

Least favourite exercise?

Snatch, I am so rubbish at it. I struggle in the squat to balance which restricts the weight going up. Practice makes perfect and all that right?

How often do you train?

I try and attend crossfit classes 5 days a week and then use 1 day at the weekend to practice my weaknesses. So 6 days a week, sometimes 5.

What are your fitness goals for 2018?

I will get kipping pull ups, even if it means I end up with no skin on my hands! I would also like to have handstand push ups by the end of the year. I would like to achieve lots more but those are the main things.

Favourite thing about the gym?

It’s friendly, nobody judges one another and the equipment is great. I have made some of my now best friends in the last 2 years, it’s a real community down at The Armoury and everyone is friendly and supportive.

What would you say to anyone thinking of joining the gym?

Do it! Do it! Do it! You will not regret it. Stick with it when you start as it 100% becomes an addiction and not only will you feel better for doing it you may make some friends along the way.

Poplular posts

Transformation Tuesday!

Tuesday February 6th Read More

Transformation Tuesday!

Armoury Crossfit gym

CrossFit Civitas Introduction

Monday August 1st Read More

CrossFit Civitas Introduction